Disney · Music

My Top 3 Moana Songs

Aloha my wonderful merfolk!

When it comes to their songs, Disney are very good at creating pieces that stay with you for a very long time. Whetehr this be because you cannot ever get them out of your head once you’ve heard them, or because they’re so memorable that they stay with you as one of your favourites. Moana is no different. The songs from this movie are so darn catchy they’ll stay in your head for a very very long time.

Today I thought I would share my top three favourite songs from Moana.

51. Moana

3. We Know The Way

I love the fact that in parts, this song is in a Polynesian language. I feel it’s important to remind people that this movie is based on a real culture and that we are to respect that. Plus, it sounds pretty awesome and I don’t think it would sound the same if the entire song was in English. I may not know the real words but I love to sing along to this catchy track. Also, the scene that goes with it just enforces Moana’s call to the sea, knowing her ancestors were sailors and would explore the oceans.

[youtube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tbVTgSVt0UA]

2. How Far I’ll Go

I love this song. It’s a great song that will boost your spirits, motivation and self confidence, and not many songs can do that. This song is Moana singing about how she knows she was born to be more than just a Chiefs daughter, stuck on an island. The sea is calling her to her destiny. This song makes me feel extremely happy and motivated to move forward and better myself. If I need a boost to remind myself to work hard and push forward, this song is one I will put on.

[youtube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TctfrPRd4hs]

1. You’re Welcome

Okay, this one may be slightly biased as I love Dwayne Johnson. A lot of his recent films have been super enjoyable and Moana is no different. I know this song is super modern sounding and he even uses the word ‘yo’ but from the beginning, this song has been my favourite Moana song. The song fits Maui’s cocky personality and is super duper catchy. As soon as I hear it, it’s stuck in my head for days. You’ll probably hear me singing this song at some point.

[youtube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G8QjumNNNBY]

a mermaid be waiting for you, in mysterious fathoms below

SIgnature

Leave a comment